Accolades & Awards

2018-19 HEI Teaching Awards:

Full-time/Joint Category: Dr. Elizabeth Alvarez
Part-time/Associate Category: Dr. Paola Muti

2018-19 HEI Mentoring/Supervision Awards:

Full-time/Joint Category: Dr. Holger Schünemann

Part-time/Associate Category: Dr. Donald Arnold

2018-19 HEI Student Publication Awards:

Best HEI MSc Student Paper: Erica Elderhorst          

Best HEI PhD Student Paper: Dena Zeraatkar

2018 Regional Assistant Dean’s Award of Excellence in Medical Education, McMaster M.G. DeGroote School of Medicine

Dr. Andrew Costa

2017 President's Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision:

Dr. John Lavis

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame:

Dr. Gordon Guyatt (2015)
Dr. Salim Yusuf (2014)

Order of Canada:

Dr. Deborah Cook (2014)
Dr. Alba DiCenso (2014)
Dr. Salim Yusuf (2013)
Dr. Gordon Guyatt (2012)
Dr. Murray Enkin (2012)
Dr. Brian Haynes (2010)
Dr. David Sackett (2010)

Royal Society of Canada:

Dr. Gordon Guyatt (2012)
Dr. Stephen Walter (2012)
Dr. Deborah Cook (2009)
Dr. Brian Haynes (2007)
Dr. Geoffrey Norman (2007)
Dr. Salim Yusuf (2005)

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences:

Dr. Sonia Anand (2019)
Dr. John Lavis (2019)
Dr. Mark Loeb (2019)
Dr. Parminder Raina (2019)

Order of Ontario:

Dr. Mohit Bhandari (2013)

Hamilton Gallery of Distinction:

Dr. Gordon Guyatt (2019)

McMaster Distinguished University Professor:

Dr. Deborah Cook (2015)
Dr. Salim Yusuf (2016)

McMaster Distinguished University Scholar:

Dr. Sonia Anand (2016)
Dr. Mohit Bhandari (2015)
Dr. Gordon Guyatt (2015)

Faculty of Health Sciences Community of Distinction:

Dr. Brian Haynes (2017)
Dr. Geoffrey Norman (2017)
Dr. Alba DiCenso (2016)
Dr. Jack Hirsh (2008)
Dr. Bernie O’Brien (2007)
Dr. Jack Sinclair (2007)
Dr. Michael Gent (2006)
Dr. George Torrance (2006)
Dr. Murray Enkin (2003)
Dr. David Sackett (2003)

Endowed Chairs and Professorships:

Dr. Sonia Anand: Heart and Stroke Foundation / Michael G. DeGroote Chair in Population Health Research
Dr. Joseph Beyene: John D. Cameron Endowed Chair in the Genetic Determinants of Chronic Disease
Dr. Deborah Cook: McMaster University / St. Joseph's Healthcare Regional Academic Chair in Critical Care Medicine
Dr. Andrew Costa: Schlegel Chair in Clinical Epidemiology and Aging
Dr. PJ Devereaux: Salim Yusuf Chair in Cardiology
Dr. Lauren Griffith: McLaughlin Foundation Professorship in Population and Public Health
Dr. Emmanuel Guindon: Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis / Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Chair in Health Equity
Dr. Mark Loeb: Michael G. DeGroote Chair in Infectious Diseases
Dr. Parminder Raina: Raymond and Margaret Labarge Chair in Research and Knowledge Application for Optimal Aging
Dr. Holger Schünemann: Michael Gent Chair in Healthcare Research
Dr. Lisa Schwartz: Arnold L. Johnson Chair in Health Care Ethics
Dr. Jean-Eric Tarride: Chair in Health Technology Management
Dr. Alfonso Iorio: Bayer Chair in Clinical Epidemiology and Bleeding Disorders
Dr Ryan Van Lieshout: Albert Einstein/Irving Zucker Chair in Neuroscience

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at